How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes

Dear Internet,

I have this problem. It’s a problem with commitment. In that I do it often, and for very short periods of time.

When I discover something new, whether it be crocheting, community supported agriculture, or–I don’t know–collecting antique glass bottles, I throw myself into the idea head first. It becomes an obsession. I learn everything I can about the hobby, its history, the culture surrounding it–the works. And then, despite my best intentions, something else will inevitably catch my eye. And even though the day before I’d been researching business plans in preparation to make the production of soy-based, vegan candles my life’s work, it will have become painfully evident that my true calling is to open a combination yoga/dance/martial arts studio. With a coffee house on the ground floor. In Iceland.

While this certainly makes for interesting conversations, I do reach points of despair, and beat myself up over my lack of staying power. For my lack of passion. Because obviously haven’t found what I’m meant to do with my life if I keep on changing my damn mind about it.

But what I’m beginning to realize, dear Internet, is that rapidly rotating interests do not make me flighty. Perhaps they’re even healthy. The key is to not take any of them too seriously. It is ok to like something without it becoming a passion. It’s ok to like something just because I like it.

It’s ok for some things in my life to exist strictly for pleasure.

Love,
Jenny

1 Comment

Filed under Life, the Universe, and Everything

One response to “How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes

  1. Kelly

    This made me think of this quote:

    “The whole secret of life is to be interested in one thing profoundly and in a thousand things well.” ~Horace Walpole

    🙂

Leave a comment