Wine, Roses, and Drunken Friends



“Drink wine. This is life eternal. This is all that youth will give you. It is the season for wine, roses and drunken friends. Be happy for this moment. This moment is your life.”
— Omar Khayyám (Rubaiyat)

I’ve been a little obsessed with Omar Khayyám quotes since I stumbled upon Keith Olbermann‘s response to Prop 8–a clip I should have watched a long, long time ago. It made me cry, for many reasons, and I thought the quote he wrapped everything up with summed up so many things for me.

“So I be written in the Book of Love; I do not care about that Book above. Erase my name, or write it as you will, So I be written in the Book of Love.”

But there are plenty of other lovely, lovely words. Indulge me and read.

“Dead yesterdays and unborn tomorrows, why fret about it, if today be sweet.”

I sent my Soul through the Invisible,
Some letter of that After-life to spell:
And by and by my Soul return’d to me,
And answer’d: ‘I Myself am Heav’n and Hell”

“Ah, make the most of what we yet may spend,
Before we too into the Dust descend;
Dust into Dust, and under Dust to lie
Sans Wine, sans Song, sans Singer, and–sans End!

Alike for those who for To-day prepare,
And those that after some To-morrow stare,
A Muezzin from the Tower of Darkness cries
“Fools! your Reward is neither Here nor There.”

Makes one want to exclaim carpe diem, no?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, the Universe, and Everything, Sight, Taste, Touch

Leave a Reply

