Everybody Needs to Touch, You Know, Now and Then

” The authorities had discovered the rarest and most pitiable of creatures: a feral child.”

I was reading one of my favorite blogs yesterday, and followed the above link to an article so tragic, with such vivid imagery, that I may never forget it. I felt compelled to share it here. I’m having a hard time describing the physical reaction I had while reading it; I’ve settled upon somewhere between wanting to cry, punch something, and throw up. (And if that won’t sell you on a read, then what will?)

It’s a heartbreakingly powerful story, beautifully written, but not exactly a pleasurable one. It certainly falls into the category of touch, as in WE ALL NEED IT. Please read…

1 Comment

Filed under Touch

One response to “Everybody Needs to Touch, You Know, Now and Then

  1. I read that story too. I used to live in the Tampa Bay area, and talked to a friend down there who is even more horrified. The part that stuck in my head is the mother saying something like, “What? I took her places sometimes. We went for pizza…once.”

    She would have been better off if the mother had literally abandoned her in the street.

Leave a Reply

