Lessons in Adulthood and Self-Esteem

I bought a computer!

Probably the least-expensive laptop in the history of computerdom – at least without buying something used – but it’s mine, and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

This is without a doubt the most expensive item I’ve ever bought for myself, if you don’t count the time I replaced the engine in my car. Or the time I put an entire semester’s tuition at Georgia State on my brand-spanking-new virgin credit card (who the hell gives a 19 year-old a $2,000 credit line?) never to be recovered from again.

So this is the biggest non-essential item I’ve ever splurged on. And I’m not apologizing. I fretted over the decision, but damn it, I deserve it!

Sometimes we need to splurge. Sometimes we need to pamper ourselves. If life is all responsibility and saving and scrapping and never giving in to our impulses, we transition seamlessly from early adulthood into mid-life crisis land, with no recollection of what happened in between.

Right?

I know you agree with me.

Right. Well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. My next post will be submitted from a remote location via my brand-new, un-tethered, un-fettered, much-loved and deserved laptop.

Once it gets delivered to my house.

Weeeeee!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Life, the Universe, and Everything

One response to “Lessons in Adulthood and Self-Esteem

  1. Leigh

    ok. still not laptop? stupid DHL!

    anyway – i’m anxiously awaiting a new blog…

Leave a Reply

